Sports activities

HIKING

Viroinval has a superb network of well-maintained and marked walking trails: 37 circuits (from 4 to 15 km) starting from each of the 8 villages, for a total of 250 km. And on the other side of the border, you’ll find lots of beautiful walks in the French Ardennes too!

Hiking is probably the best way to appreciate the natural beauty of the region. We provide you with maps and walking guides and share with you our favourite walks.

And to spice up your family walks, why not try a donkey trek with Balad'ânes? Or go in search of geocaches

NORDIC WALKING

 

About fifteen marked Nordic walking routes start from the villages of Nîsmes, Olloy and Oignies: you will find all the information you need at the cottage. 

TRAIL RUNNING

 

All these walking and Nordic walking tours can of course be combined and done at a higher pace!

Moreover, for enthusiasts, various events take place in the region: Trail du Viroin, Raid du Viroin (trail running + kayaking + mountain biking), The Challenge Trail de la Forêt du pays de Chimay, the Hastrail...

MOUNTAIN BIKING AND BICYCLE TOURING

Five bordering communes, including Viroinval, have created a 365km network of signposted itineraries for lovers of mountain biking and bicycle touring. Two mountain bike circuits pass directly in front of the house! The large circuit of the ‘Ronde du Viroin' is magnificent but is aimed at experienced athletes: it is more than 50 km long and the difference in altitude is significant.
 

Families can take advantage of the two car-free RAVeLs (Mariembourg-Doische and Olloy-Oignies) and the trans-Ardennes bike path along the spectacular Meuse River valley. The region also abounds in small country roads through fields and woodlands.

Your bikes are safe in our garage and equipment is at your disposal (garden hose, repair kit, pump).  You don't have a bike? You can rent mountain bikes at the café Chez Raoul in Olloy-sur-Viroin, 5 km away! The Tourist Office of Viroinval rents out electric bikes in Nismes to discover this hilly region in a relaxed way.

 

Maps and some suggestions for additional 'homemade' tours are available at the house.

FISHING

Our holiday cottage is situated on the banks of the Viroin and has its own access to the river. We fish for rainbow trout, fario and char. Information and permits are available at the café 'Le Montjoie' in the village or at the ASBL La Treignoise to fish in Treignes. Information and permits at the café 'Chez Raoul' for Olloy.

KAYAKING

It is possible to kayak 3 different distances down the Viroin depending on the village you start from: 7, 13 or 20 km. In all cases, the arrival is in Treignes, at the bridge, just a few steps from the holiday cottage. You will appreciate the tranquillity and beauty of the natural sites you will pass through, far from the crowds going down the Lesse river, for example. Kayaks are rented out at the café 'Le Montjoie' in the village. You will be driven by van to the kayak departure site. More information at Viroinval - Kayaks.

BATHING

During the summer heat, children can paddle in the river near the house.  

You can go to the beaches of the lacs de l'Eau d'Heure (30 min. by car) or the lac des Vieilles Forges (35 min.). 

SWIMMING POOL AND BOWLING

The centre aqualudique Rivéa in Givet (France, 15 min.) offers several swimming pools with slides, a jacuzzi, a fitness area, etc. A bowling alley is located at the same place.

CLIMBING

  • outside: cliff in Dourbes (10 min.)

  • indoors: climbing gym in Doische (10 min.)

TREETOP ADVENTURE PARKS

  • Terraltitude in Fumay (20 min.): tree climbing, giant zip line over the Meuse, bungee jumping, etc.

  • Agimont Adventure in Agimont (15 min.): paintball, airsoft, tree climbing

  • Natura Parc aux lacs de l'Eau d'Heure (30 min.): tree climbing, zip line, jumps, etc. 

  • Acrobatic park of the Leisure Centre of the Lac des Vieilles Forges (35 min)

KARTING

Karting des Fagnes in Mariembourg (10 min.): one of the longest circuits in Europe, in the open air, with a grandstand and a cafeteria.

Les activités sportives

RANDONNEE

Viroinval possède un superbe réseau de circuits pédestres balisés et bien entretenus : 37 circuits en boucle (de 4 à 15 km) au départ de chacun des 8 villages de l'entité, pour un total de 250 km. Et de l'autre côté de la frontière, les belles balades ne manquent pas non plus dans les Ardennes françaises !

La randonnée est probablement le meilleur moyen d'apprécier les beautés naturelles de la région. Nous mettons à votre disposition des cartes et guides de promenades et partageons avec vous nos circuits 'coups de coeur'.

Et pour pimenter vos promenades en famille, pourquoi ne pas tenter une randonnée accompagnée d'un âne avec Balad'ânes ? Ou partir à la recherche de geocaches

MARCHE NORDIQUE

 

Une quinzaine de parcours de marche nordique balisés démarrent depuis les villages de Nîsmes, Olloy et Oignies : vous trouverez toutes les infos nécessaires au gîte. 

TRAIL

 

Tous ces circuits de promenades et de marche nordique peuvent bien entendu se combiner et se faire à l'allure supérieure! De plus, pour les mordus, divers événements ont lieu dans la région : Trail du Viroin, Raid du Viroin (trail+kayak+VTT), le Challenge Trail de la Forêt du pays de Chimay, l'Hastrail...

VTT ET CYCLOTOURISME

Cinq communes limitrophes dont Viroinval ont créé un réseau de 365km d'itinéraires balisés pour les amateurs de balades VTT et cyclotouristiques. Deux circuits VTT passent directement devant la maison ! Le grand circuit de la ronde du Viroin est magnifique mais s'adresse aux sportifs confirmés: il fait plus de 50 km et le dénivelé est important.
 

Les familles peuvent profiter de la présence de deux RAVeLs (Mariembourg-Doische et Olloy-Oignies) et de la voie verte trans-ardennes (le long de la Meuse). La région regorge également de petites routes bucoliques à travers campagnes et forêts. 

Vos vélos sont à l'abri dans notre garage et du matériel est mis à votre disposition (tuyau d'arrosage, kit de réparation, pompe).  Vous n'avez pas de vélo ? Vous pouvez  louer et vous faire livrer des VTT au café Chez Raoul à Olloy-sur-Viroin! L'Office du Tourisme de Viroinval loue des vélos électriques à Nismes pour découvrir cette région vallonée de manière agréable.
 

Les cartes et quelques suggestions de circuits 'maison' supplémentaires sont disponibles au gîte.

PECHE

Notre gîte se situe au bord du Viroin et a son propre accès à la rivière. On y pêche la truite arc-en-ciel, fario et l'omble. Renseignements et permis au café 'Le Montjoie' dans le village ou auprès de l'ASBL La Treignoise pour pêcher à Treignes. Renseignements et permis au café Chez Raoul pour Olloy.

KAYAK

La descente du Viroin se décline en 3 distances possibles suivant le village d'où vous partez: 7, 13 ou 20 km. Dans tous les cas, l'arrivée se situe à Treignes, au pont, juste à quelques pas du gîte donc. Vous apprécierez la tranquillité et la beauté des sites naturels traversés, loin des foules descendant la Lesse. Location de kayaks au café 'Le Montjoie' dans le village. Vous serez conduits en camionnette jusqu'au lieu de mise à l'eau des kayaks. Renseignements supplémentaires sur Viroinval - Kayaks.

BAIGNADE

Pendant les chaleurs estivales, les enfants peuvent patauger dans la rivière près de la maison.  

Vous pouvez aller aux plages des lacs de l'Eau d'Heure (30 min. en voiture) ou du lac des Vieilles Forges (35 min.). 

CENTRE AQUALUDIQUE ET BOWLING

Le centre aqualudique Rivéa de Givet (15 min.) propose plusieurs piscines avec toboggans, jacuzzi, espace fitness. Un bowling se trouve au même endroit.

ESCALADE

PARCS D'AVENTURES

  • Terraltitude à Fumay (20 min.): accrobranche, tyrolienne géante au dessus de la Meuse, sauts à l'élastique, ...

  • Agimont Adventure à Agimont (15 min.): paintball, airsoft, accrobranche

  • Natura Parc aux lacs de l'Eau d'Heure (30 min.): accrobranche, tyrolienne, sauts, ... 

  • Parc acrobatique de la Base de loisirs du lac des vieilles forges (35 min)

KARTING

Karting des Fagnes à Mariembourg (10 min.): un des plus longs circuits d'Europe, en plein air, avec une tribune et une cafétéria.