The village of Treignes is part of Viroinval, at the heart of the Viroin-Hermeton natural park .
 
Situated on the bank of the Viroin river, the village is concentrated around its imposing Neo-Gothic church and its castle farm. The territory of Treignes is divided between the Ardennes and the Calestienne. The Viroin marks the separation between these two geological regions.
This geological diversity brings an extraordinary natural richness. On one side of the Viroin are the great deep forests of the Ardennes, with an undulating relief. On the other side, you’ll find limestone hills. The soil allows water to drain away and captures the heat of the sun. This attracts an exceptional biotope: lizards, grasshoppers, locusts, butterflies, etc. It is almost like being in the South of France. The hills are covered with grasslands where thousands of flowers bloom in spring: orchids, helianthemums, anemones, veronicas, gentians, and many more.
These environments were created by ancient agro-pastoral practices. Herds of sheep, once led by shepherds, grazed there and thus ensured the maintenance of the grasslands. In recent years, the Natura 2000 programme has enabled the restoration of these meadows. In order to avoid overgrowth and the reclaiming of the land by the forest, flocks of sheep graze these nature reserves. You will come across them as you stroll along...
The limestone grasslands are spread all along the Viroin valley.
Just 100 metres from the holiday house, the naturalist can already explore the Moessia nature reserve.
 
La Roche-à-Lomme and la Montagne-aux-Buis are two very representative sites of this type of environment
LA ROCHE A LOMME AND LA MONTAGNE-AUX-BUIS
Titre 6
Between Nismes and Dourbes, two other villages that are part of Viroinval, a limestone peak topped by a cross offers a unique view of the Viroin valley. La Roche à Lomme is known internationally for its high biological value. The rocky slope to the south is covered with a flora in Mediterranean hues and enhanced by the abundant presence of boxwood, hence the name Montagne-aux-buis (= boxwood mountain).
LE FONDRY DES CHIENS
This rather impressive chasm was formed in the limestone by the action of water over millions of years. This small canyon is strewn with strangely shaped rocks. It is a unique location in Belgium.
 
Next to the Fondry des chiens you will see a magnificent calcareous grassland, dotted with blue (globular) flowers and orchids in the spring. Marked hiking trails pass through this place located on the heights of Nismes.
THE ARDENNES FOREST
Once they have crossed the Viroin river, walkers enter another world: the Ardennes forest. Immense and deep, it is home to many animals that can sometimes be spotted.
The villages of Oignies and Le Mesnil, in the heart of this deep forest, exude a very special atmosphere.
Slate was once exploited in the schistous soil: many vestiges of the mines are dotted around. In Haybes, it is possible to follow a 6 km walking trail equipped with interpretation panels (information at the holiday house).
L'ETANG DE VIRELLES
The pond of Virelles, which is located in the commune of Chimay (30 min. from the house), in the heart of the Fagne, is a magnificent site where you can observe birds in all seasons from observation points and huts. The north, east and west of the pond are covered with reed beds, meadows and temperate rainforests that are particularly beneficial for birdlife.

The Aquascope, south of the pond, is a nature interpretation centre open to the public all year round. There is an educational trail, a tavern and a playground.
With a reservation, it is possible to explore the site by canoe accompanied by a Virelles-Nature guide.
A great experience for the whole family!
 
TREIGNES AND THE VIROIN VALLEY

Le village de Treignes fait partie de l'entité de Viroinval, en plein coeur du parc naturel Viroin-Hermeton.
 
Situé en bordure du Viroin, le village se concentre autour de son imposante église néogothique et de sa ferme château. Le territoire de Treignes est partagé entre l'Ardenne et la Calestienne. Le Viroin marque la séparation entre ces deux régions géologiques.
Cette diversité géologique apporte une richesse naturelle extraordinaire. D'un côté du Viroin, ce sont les grandes forêts profondes de l'Ardenne, avec un relief qui s'élève. De l'autre côté, ce sont les tiennes calcaires. Le sol calcaire laisse évacuer l'eau et capte la chaleur du soleil. Cela attire un biotope exceptionnel: lézards, sauterelles, criquets, papillons, etc. On se croirait presque dans le Sud de la France. Ces tiennes sont recouverts de pelouses qui se colorent de milliers de fleurs au printemps. Orchidées, hélianthèmes, anémones, véroniques, gentianes s'y rencontrent au hasard des promenades.
Ce sont les pratiques agropastorales anciennes qui ont permis la création de ces milieux. Des troupeaux de moutons, conduits autrefois par le berger, y pâturaient et assuraient ainsi le maintien de pelouses rases. Depuis quelques années, le programme Natura 2000 a permis la restauration de ces pelouses. Pour éviter leur embroussaillement et la reconquête du terrain par la forêt, des troupeaux de moutons pâturent ces réserves naturelles. Vous les croiserez au gré de vos balades...
Les pelouses calcicoles se répartissent tout au long de la vallée du Viroin.
A 100 mètres à peine du gîte, le naturaliste pourra déjà arpenter la réserve naturelle du Moessia.
 
La Roche-à-Lomme et la Montagne-aux-Buis sont deux sites très représentatifs de ce type de milieu.
LA ROCHE A LOMME ET LA MONTAGNE-AUX-BUIS
Titre 6
Entre Nismes et Dourbes, deux autres villages de l'entité de Viroinval, un pic calcaire surmonté d'une croix offre un point de vue unique sur la vallée du Viroin. La Roche à Lomme est connue internationalement pour sa grande valeur biologique. Le versant rocheux situé au sud est couvert d'une flore aux teintes méditerranéennes, rehaussée par la présence abondante de buis, ce qui lui a valu le nom de Montagne-aux-buis.
LE FONDRY DES CHIENS
Ce gouffre plutôt impressionnant s'est formé dans la pierre calcaire sous l'action de l'eau durant des millions d'années. Des rochers aux formes étranges s'entremèlent au milieu de ce petit canyon. C'est un endroit unique en Belgique. A côté du Fondry des chiens s'étend une magnifique pelouse calcicole, parsemée de fleurs bleues (globulaires) et d'orchidées au printemps. Des circuits balisés de randonnée passent par cet endroit situé sur les hauteurs de Nismes.
LA FORET ARDENNAISE
Une fois le Viroin franchi, le promeneur pénètre dans un autre monde: celui de la forêt ardennaise. Immense et profonde, elle abrite de nombreux animaux qui se laissent parfois apercevoir.
Les villages de Oignies et Le Mesnil, au coeur de cette forêt profonde, dégagent une atmosphère très particulière.
Le sol schisteux a permis autrefois l'exploitation de l'ardoise: de nombreux vestiges de ces mines subsistent encore çà et là. A Haybes, il est possible de suivre un circuit pédestre de 6 km équipé de panneaux d'interprétation (infos au gîte).
L'ETANG DE VIRELLES
L’étang de Virelles, qui est situé sur la commune de Chimay (à 30 min. du gîte), au cœur de la Fagne, est un endroit magnifique où l'on peut observer des oiseaux en toutes saisons, à partir de miradors et cabanes d'observation. Le nord, l’est et l’ouest de l'étang sont couverts de roselières, de prairies et de forêts humides particulièrement intéressantes pour l’avifaune.

L’Aquascope, au sud de l'étang, est un centre d’interprétation de la nature, ouvert au public toute l’année. On y trouve un parcours didactique, une taverne et une plaine de jeu.
Sur réservation, il est possible de parcourir le site en canoë accompagné par un guide de Virelles-Nature. Une expérience marquante pour toute la famille !
 
TREIGNES ET LA VALLEE DU VIROIN